Google is constantly updating its assistant with new features, and the latest example of that comes in the form of a new interpreter mode.

Google gave us a quick look at Google Assistant's new interpreter mode at CES 2019. We were able to see it in use with smart displays and speakers. But now, Google is officially launching the feature for Google Assistant devices and smart displays. Here's what you need to know about the feature, including which devices it supports and how it works.

What is interpreter mode?

You can ask Google Assistant to translate your conversation with someone who doesn’t speak your language using a new interpreter mode. This is a software feature that is rolling out over the air to compatible Google Assistant devices.

Language available

As of February 2019, you can ask the Google Assistant to translate into any of the following languages:

  • Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese

Which devices support interpreter mode?

The following Google Assistant devices will let you use the interpreter mode:

  • All Google Home speakers
  • Some third-party speakers with built-in Google Assistant
  • All Google Assistant smart displays

How does interpreter mode work?

With interpreter mode, you can ask Google Assistant to help you conduct a conversation in dozens of languages. Just say “Hey Google, be my Spanish interpreter” to start interpreter mode and get real time spoken (or, on smart displays, written translation) to aid the conversation.

Start translating a conversation

  1. Say "OK Google".
  2. Now say a command like "Be my French interpreter," "Help me speak Spanish", "Interpret from Polish to Dutch", "Chinese interpreter", or Turn on interpreter mode".
  3. If you haven’t identified languages, choose which languages you want to use.
  4. When you hear the tone, start speaking in either language.
  5. On a smart display, you’ll both see and hear the translated conversation.

Note: You'll need to activate the interpreter mode in English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, or Spanish. Once you've started, interpreter mode will translate between any of the 26 supported languages we mentioned above.

Stop translating a conversation

  1. To stop using interpreter mode, say a command like "Stop", "Quit", or "Exit".
  2. On a smart display, you can also swipe from left to right to stop interpreter mode.

Want to know more?

Check out Google's help hub for more instructions.

Klik voor bron |

Over de auteur

Ad Min


Leave a Comment